Sexual Harassment Training Requirements 2019 (California)
On the prevention front, SB1343 expands the number and type of employees who must be subjected to sexual harassment training. Under current law, employers with 50 or more employees must give supervisors two hours of sexual harassment training every two years. Starting in 2019, employers with five or more employees must provide two hours of training to supervisors and one hour to all other employees within six months of their hire (or promotion to supervisor) and every two years thereafter. Temporary and seasonal employees must be trained within their first 30 days or 100 hours, whichever comes first.
The training can be in person or online, and it must be interactive.
Starting in 2020, employers must also provide this type of training to migrant and seasonal agricultural workers. This law requires the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing to develop an online training course in multiple languages and make it available on its website.